One of the questions that we are asked about most frequently when talking to potential clients throughout the state of Florida about hiring our firm to handle their underpaid or denied insurance claims is how much is it going to cost them for us to represent them. In this new era of supply chain disruptions and skyrocketing costs of everyday items, this is a perfectly logical question, especially since hiring attorneys is notoriously expensive. Many people think that having a small claim prohibits them from having an attorney represent them for this very reason. To give them credit, in many sub specialties of law their assumptions would be correct. However, at the Law Offices of Murray & Associates we make it a point to tell all of our first party insurance claim’s clients that there is no case too small for us to handle. We have handled cases in which insurance companies have denied or underpaid insurance claims for as little as $500. There is no case too small to make it cost prohibitive for Murray & Associates to fight on behalf of our client’s rights! In rare instances we can even arrange a percentage of the claim to help the client win the reward they are entitled to receive. This percentage would only be paid after we successfully settle the case on your behalf and obtain the highest possible settlement to cover the damage our client (Florida Homeowner, Florida Business owner) has incurred to your satisfaction. For many people, when we tell them that it will not cost them a thing to litigate their insurance claim, they ask the next logical question. How?
In this day and age of endless telemarketer calls and spam emails, I believe a healthy sense of skepticism is warranted. So, we are never offended when a potential client is skeptical that we can represent them without them needing to pay us a dime. The reason we can, however, is because of a longstanding Florida statute that was created specifically to help people like the homeowner or business owner with a small claim like was mentioned above.
Florida Statues §627.428 states in relevant part:
Upon the rendition of a judgment or decree by any of the courts of this state against an
insurer and in favor of any named or omnibus insured or the named beneficiary under a
policy or contract executed by the insurer, the trial court or, in the event of an appeal in which
the insured or beneficiary prevails, the appellate court shall adjudge or decree against the
insurer and in favor of the insured or beneficiary a reasonable sum as fees or compensation
While that’s a lot of legalese, essentially what it says is that if your insurance company delays, denies, or underpays an insurance claim, and you need to hire an attorney to file suit on your behalf, if the attorney gets you a favorable outcome (i.e. $1 more than what they had offered previously), the insurance company has to pay your attorney’s fees and costs. This law was designed to try to protect the property owner and even the “playing field” so to speak for Florida property owners going against insurance companies with deep pockets.
If your insurance company has delayed, denied, or underpaid your Florida homeowner’s insurance claim or other property claim, please give us a call or text at 1-844-LAW-PRO6 (1-844-529-7766). Or if you prefer then feel free to send an email at email@example.com or fill out the contact form on our website, https://www.myinsurancelawyer.com/contact-us/.
Not only is the consultation free of cost to you, but we don’t collect any fees unless we win the case for you!